top of page

Artistic Director: Drew Silvaggio

Drew Silvaggio holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Musical Theater from the University of the Arts in Philadelphia. Locally, Silvaggio has performed with the Civic Ballet of San Luis Obispo, Deyo Dances, and toured Cuba, China and Spain with San Luis Jazz Dancers.

On the east coast he has been involved with many productions including: A Chorus Line, Edmond, Carousel, Weird Romance, On the Town and performed as a feature dancer for the Barrymore Awards as well as the Philadelphia Fringe Festival. He has trained with some of the leaders in dance and theater education and is looking forward to sharing with the community. Silvaggio is resident choreographer, teacher, and owner of The Academy of Dance, the official school of the Civic Ballet of San Luis Obispo.

Silvaggio has held the position of Artistic Director and Principal Choreographer of the Civic Ballet of San Luis Obispo since 2003, in addition to directing All Things Dance Company. Since then he has premiered Alice in Wonderland, Sidewalk Stories, Midsummer Night’s DreamThe Crucible, Julia Caesar, The Scarlet Ibis, and Our Town, among others. In addition, Drew recreates Lorilee Silvaggio’s The Nutcracker each holiday season to rave reviews.

Silvaggio has helped to foster an uncompromising artistry that has become the bedrock of the Central Coast’s oldest professional dance institution, raising the bar for dance excellence in San Luis Obispo and abroad.


Our Founding Director
Lorilee Silvaggio


Board of Directors

The Civic Ballet of San Luis Obispo Board of Directors is an all-volunteer body composed of members of the community with diverse professional backgrounds. Their duties include accounting, advertising, event planning, fundraising, secretarial, and technical theater work. All members possess a love for dance, and most importantly, a love for the dancers.

Current Members

Joanna M. Whitcher-President

Michell Zulim-Clark- Treasurer

Heather Wethington-Secretary

Rachel McSpadden Tarver

Helene Dinsmoor

Carla Osborn

Jaime Holland Strand-Executive Director

bottom of page